Urban planning advisory committee

The Planning and Development Act gives city council the power to create a Planning Advisory Committee (PAC) by law. This working group consists of at least one board member along with a resident appointed by the former, in order to guide, direct and support its urban planning action. A designated officer, who also happens to be the building and environment inspector, acts as secretary assists the committee.

First and foremost, it is important to understand the basis of the PAC’s function. It is recognized that although the PAC has primary power of recommendation to City Council, it does not have any decision-making authority. Decisional power if reserved for elected officials only. Also, the PAC is not responsible for holding public consultations required by the Planning and Development Act for the Council. However, the Committee does take its role seriously, as it represents the public voice in the collective interest.

In theory, the PAC has the power to make recommendations on all matters relating to urban planning, subdivision and construction:

  • As a first step, the PAC must assist City Council in the development of its planning policy. Indeed, members must consider any written request for amendment of the planning regulations that have been submitted by the Council or a designated officer, study subdivision projects, suggest necessary changes, and report back to the Council. The Committee must also hear complaints arising from the requirements of planning regulations and make recommendations to the Council.
  • Also, City Council must receive the recommendations of the PAC prior to granting a minor variance, the establishment of a CDP(Comprehensive Development Plan), an architectural implementation and integration plan (AIIP), a conditional use or SCMPSUI (Special construction and modification projects or special use of an immovable).
  • More formally, it is mandatory to consult the PAC when reporting on the status of historical monuments and heritage sites, who then have the duty to consult the owners concerned.

At PAC meetings, people may present their cases, but decisions are made behind closed doors on anonymous recommendations. The PAC makes recommendations via the minutes to the counseling session, and the Council then makes a decision taking into account these recommendations. Recommendations may not be fully implemented, however a justification of the decisions will be provided.

The City of Huntingdon’s by-law on the PAC includes provisions relating to the number of members (seven (7) members), the term of office of these members (limit of two (2) years with possibility of renewal) in addition to the responsibilities attached to the positions. The by-law also states the frequency of meetings, the method of summons, the requirement of a mandatory quorum, the voting method, the casting vote of the chairman and keeping the minutes. In short, the by-law establishes rules of internal management.

All applications that require the presence of the PAC must be submitted formally to the City of Huntingdon accompanied by all documents and information necessary for a proper understanding of projects, or assessing their impact on their host environment.

For information about a request or procedure, please contact the building and environment inspector.

By-law 511 on urban planning

By-law 783-2009 on minor derogations to regulations on urban planning

By-law 515 on permits and licences as well as the administration of
subdivision zoning regulations and construction

By-law 513 on construction

By-law 637-2001 on site planning and architectural integration

Comité consultatif d’urbanisme

La Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme donne au Conseil municipal le pouvoir de créer par règlement un Comité consultatif d’urbanisme (CCU), qui est une groupe de travail composé d’au moins un membre du conseil et de résidents nommés par ce dernier, ce afin de guider, orienter et soutenir son action en matière d’urbanisme. Le comité est assisté par un fonctionnaire désigné, qui agit comme secrétaire et qui dans ce cas-ci est l’inspecteur en bâtiment et en environnement.

Tout d’abord, il est important de comprendre l’esprit de la fonction du CCU. Il est reconnu que le CCU n’a qu’un pouvoir primaire de recommandation au Conseil municipal, et non décisionnel. Ce rôle revient aux élus municipaux. Aussi, il n’a pas la responsabilité de tenir, à la place du Conseil, les séances de consultation publiques prévues par la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme. Toutefois, il ne faut pas prendre son rôle comme étant de moindre importance, car il représente la voix du public dans l’intérêt collectif.

En théorie, ils ont un pouvoir de recommandation sur tout ce qui a trait à l’urbanisme, le lotissement et la construction :

  • Dans un premier temps, le CCU doit assister le Conseil municipal dans l’élaboration de sa politique d’urbanisme. En effet, il doit prendre en considération toute demande écrite de modification des règlements d’urbanisme qui aura été soumise par le conseil ou le fonctionnaire désigné, étudier les projets de lotissement, suggérer les modifications nécessaires et en faire rapport au Conseil. Il doit également entendre les plaintes découlant des prescriptions des règlements d’urbanisme et formuler des recommandations au Conseil.
  • Pour le reste, le Conseil municipal doit obligatoirement avoir eu les recommandations du CCU avant d’octroyer une dérogation mineure, l’établissement d’un PAE (Plan d’aménagement d’ensemble), d’un PIIA (Plan d’implantation et d’intégration architecturale), d’un usage conditionnel ou d’un PPCMOI (projet particulier de construction, de modification ou d’occupation d’un immeuble).
  • De manière plus formelle, il faut obligatoirement faire appel au CCU dans le cadre de déclaration du statut de monuments historiques ou des sites du patrimoine et ils sont les personnes qui doivent consulter les propriétaires concernés.

Lors d’une séance de rencontre du CCU, les gens peuvent présentés leur dossier, mais les décisions sont prises à huis clos sur recommandations anonymes. Le CCU remet ses recommandations via le procès verbal à la séance de conseil. Le conseil prend une décision en prenant considération des recommandations. Il n’est pas tenu d’aller dans le même sens que ces recommandations, mais doit justifier sa décision.

Le règlement de la Ville de Huntingdon portant sur le CCU comprend les dispositions relatives aux nombres de membres, soit sept (7) membres, la durée du mandat de ces derniers (limite de deux (2) ans avec possibilité de renouvellement) et leurs responsabilités. Le règlement fait état de la fréquence des réunions, du mode de convocation, du fait qu’il doit y avoir quorum obligatoire, la modalité de vote, du vote prépondérant du président et de la tenue des procès verbaux. Grosso modo, le règlement établit ses propres règles de régie interne.

Toutes les demandes qui nécessitent d’être présentées au CCU doivent être déposées officiellement à la Ville de Huntingdon, et accompagnés de tous les documents et informations nécessaires à la bonne compréhension des projets ou à l’évaluation de leur impact sur leur milieu d’insertion.

Pour toute information concernant une demande ou les procédures, veuillez contacter l’inspecteur en bâtiment et en environnement.

Règlement plan d’urbanisme 511

Règlement 783-2009 sur les derogations mineures aux reglements durbanisme

Règlement relatif aux permis et certificats ainsi qu’a l’administration des règlements de zonage de lotissement et de construction numero 515

Règlement 513 de construction

Règlement sur les plans d’implantation et d’integration architecturale numero 637-2001