Blog

Entrepreneur portrait – Russet House: A local business with a worldwide outreach

14 June 2017

Founded in 2007 and now running with 155 employees at its plant in Huntingdon, Russet House offers a complete range of services, from the processing, production, quality control and merchandizing of high-end food products. Thanks to its devoted team, the company grew remarkably over time and is now the third largest processor of sweet potatoes in North America.

Russet House’s development was made alongside the City of Huntingdon. “The City has always been open-minded and collaborative with us, explains Mr. Léopold Moyen, President of Russet House. It certainly participated in our growth and allowed us to maintain a long-term vision, which is an important source of motivation for an entrepreneur.”

A regional pride

Winner of numerous international awards, the president is especially proud of the impact he can create amongst his team and the community.

“We started this business in an unfavourable economic context, but 10 years later, we finally see the results of the effort we put in, says Mr. Moyen. We are now reinvesting massively to both contribute to our sustainability and provide our workers with even better quality employment and state-of-the-art technology.”

Actualité

Portrait d’entrepreneur – Maison Russet : Une entreprise locale connaît un rayonnement mondial

14 juin 2017

Établie en 2007 et employant maintenant 155 travailleurs à son usine de Huntingdon, Maison Russet offre un service complet de transformation, production, développement de la qualité et commercialisation de produits alimentaires hauts de gammes. Grâce à une équipe dédiée, l’entreprise a connu une croissance remarquable au cours des dernières années, devenant le troisième plus grand transformateur de patates douces en Amérique du Nord.

Le cheminement de Maison Russet s’est fait en partenariat avec la Ville de Huntingdon. « La Ville a toujours été réceptive et collaborative à notre égard, explique M. Léopold Moyen, président de l’entreprise. Elle a certainement participé à notre croissance et nous a permis d’avoir une vision à long terme, ce qui est très motivant pour un entrepreneur. »

Une fierté régionale

Fier d’être lauréat de plusieurs prix internationaux, le président l’est davantage lorsqu’il mesure l’impact qu’il crée au sein de son équipe et sa communauté.

« Nous avons démarré cette entreprise dans un contexte économique peu favorable, mais après 10 ans, nous voyons finalement nos efforts porter fruit, souligne M. Moyen. Nous réinvestissons présentement de façon importante, tant pour assurer notre pérennité, que pour offrir à nos employés des postes d’encore meilleure qualité grâce à des outils technologiques de haut niveau. »